Will Everybody Please Stop Yelling

Thought Catalog

I was sitting alone at a diner writing in my journal when an old man at the table beside me laughed, leaned away from his newspaper, and waved for my attention.

“This is so funny,” he said.

“What’s that?” I asked.

“Margaret Thatcher died,” he said. “Have you heard about the song? Ding Dong, the Witch is Dead?”

I had, in fact, as I am not an old person and know what the internet is. I’d heard about the controversy all week as it evolved in real time. The old man was referring to the grassroots effort in the United Kingdom led by a great many anti-Thatcherites to buy the song into a position of prominence on the pop charts in order that it would have to be played by the BBC. This in the thick of street parties organized across the nation to celebrate the Iron Lady’s death, her…

View original post 1,057 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

